Welcome to EuropaCorp corporate website



Luc Besson

Chairman of the Board

Luc Besson began his career as a producer and director in the early 1980s. He has directed seventeen feature-length films, including “Subway”, “The Big Blue”, “Nikita”, “Léon (The Professional)”, “The Fifth Element” (for which he won the César for best director in 1997), the animated trilogy “Arthur and the Invisibles”, “Lucy”, as well as “Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets”. Franchises of note include “Taken”, “Transporter” and “Taxi”. In May 2000, Luc Besson was president of the jury of Cannes International Film Festival, becoming the youngest jury president in the history of this festival. A César, BAFTA and Lumiere Award winning filmmaker, he was named International Producer of the year by The Hollywood Reporter in 2017. Films written and/or directed by Luc Besson have grossed more than $3.0 billion in worldwide box office to date. He founded EuropaCorp in 1999.

Marc Shmuger

Chief Executive Officer

Over the course of thirty years, Marc Shmuger has distinguished himself through hands-on business and creative leadership in the entertainment industry. He has worked at the highest levels of Sony Pictures and Universal Pictures, including serving as Chairman of Universal where he greenlit, developed, and distributed such movies as “The Bourne Ultimatum”, “American Gangster”, “Inglourious Basterds”, “Wanted”, “Knocked Up”, and “Mamma Mia!”. Universal’s films under Shmuger’s leadership earned a notable 54 Oscar nominations, 78 BAFTA nominations, and 45 Golden Globe nominations. As a producer, he has been recognized for outstanding accomplishment from The Peabody Awards and The Producers Guild. His innovative work earlier in his career as a marketer has been recognized with top prizes from major advertising festivals, including multiple Clio’s, Telly’s, Addy’s, New York Festival Awards, and Key Art Awards. Advertising Age honored Shmuger in 1999 and 2000 as The Entertainment Marketer of the Year, making him the first person ever to receive this distinction twice. Shmuger is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and has served on the Board of Trustees for The American Film Institute. He is a Magna Cum Laude, Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Wesleyan University.

Régis Marillas

Chief Operating Officer

Graduated from ESCLCA, Régis Marillas joined EuropaCorp in 2005 after having been an auditor at KPMG and corporate controller for Coyote Production.